Don Antonio by Starita!

I haven’t updated in SO long! Last week was absolutely insane at work and I didn’t get much of a chance to write once I got home. But that doesn’t mean I didn’t eat pizza – I’ve got 4 new places (plus 1 oldie) to share with you!

After that crazy, hectic, stressful week, I was really looking forward to some pizza, so we headed to the fairly new Don Antonio by Starita near Times Square. Based on my research, it’s a collaboration between Keste’s Roberto Caporuscio (<3 Keste, but that’s for another post) and his former mentor Antonio Starita – who, as luck has it, was actually in the building on the night we went.

I really loved the whole setup, very sleek. We were seated at the back, right next to the kitchen. They even have a screen where you can watch them making your pizza – you can see it in the back left of this picture.

Our first pie was the Margherita S.T.G. (Guaranteed Typical Specialty). Tomato sauce, mozzarella, some pecorino romano, and basil. I found it a bit oily; but still delicious. At $12 it’s not a bad deal, though I probably could have finished the entire thing myself. Good-quality cheese, but a bit too much char even for my liking – as you can see, the top is burnt in one or two areas.

What I was most excited about was the Montanara pie – dough that is fried, then topped and baked in the oven. The fried dough definitelymade a difference; it was puffy and chewy and extremely flavorful. The pie itself was quite small and once again I found the oil a bit overwhelming. I don’t like dabbing my pizza, but I will if I have to – no one likes greasy fingers.

The only complaint I have about it – and this was an oversight on my part – was the smoked mozzarella. I’m not a fan of smoked mozzarella; I find that the smokiness overwhelms any other flavors that may pop out – even something as blatant as the basil. I basically didn’t read the menu, and I don’t think this is standard on all montanara pies (I’ve yet to try the ones at PizzArte or Forcella). Their menu is quite impressive overall; though I stuck to my standard cheese+tomato+dough, I saw some other rather intriguing pies come out of the oven.

Overall, a very good pre-show dinner at Don Antonio. I was surprised at how crowded it got, and fairly early too – before 6:00pm. In this area of NYC, it’s kind of slim pickings for good pizza, so Don Antonio is definitely worth your time.

Don Antonio by Starita

309 W. 50th St., b/w 8th & 9th Ave

646-719-1043

Leave a Reply

